Skip to content

Ten miles to school, barefoot, in the snow, uphill, both ways.

February 17, 2011


Fine I am lying. I live in perfect 75 degree weather right now, while the rest of you whither away in the frozen tundra of winter. Sure I feel bad for you, but do you see what I have to deal with? That up there? That’s my commute to work. It would probably help if I made more of an effort to ride the bike on a daily basis, then it wouldn’t even feel like a workout. I have really great reasons/excuses for my laziness.

  1. There was an entire week where it was cold. Ice on the ground, well in the shady spots. Combine that with my racing speed wind chill factor and there’s no way I wasn’t driving to work with the seat heater on full blast.
  2. Sometimes I know that I’ll need to make a Target trip during lunch.
  3. Or Rubio’s.
  4. Or World Market, or Michael’s or Pier 1.
  5. It’s only a 5 min drive, compared to the 30 minute, uphill, grueling, bike riding commute.
  6. Most importantly, I don’t always want to be hunted down by the Mini Dachsund, farm dog from hell that chases me for a block. I have had a nightmare where he gets ahold of my achilles and I have to pedal the rest of the way home with what looks like a rotting, large mouth bass attached to my ankle. It’s not a pretty sight and I sure hope I won’t have that deja vu moment in the future.

Actually I have the most peaceful, easy breezy bike ride. There’s just the one major intersection to cross and I’ve only had one close call with a car. The mountain I mentioned above is about a 1% incline and only lasts 2 minutes. The rest of the time I just bebop along with a smile on my face.

Today I think I went through a vortex. I pedaled across the intersection and ended up in a land of mountainous terrain covered in ice. I was afraid that I would end up going so slow climbing that hill that my legs would stop moving and I would just topple over. Like so:

At least I haven’t had any encounters with killer pigeons.

Yet.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacey permalink
    February 17, 2011 10:38 am

    Hey, that picture on the bottom actually resembles you ;). Don’t you get hit by any cars, spazoid. You make me laugh.

  2. Auntie Ginger permalink
    February 17, 2011 4:14 pm

    You are such a funny girl! I truley love you.

Leave a Reply

