Skip to content

How many hours can one spend just spinning in their office chair?

August 18, 2010

Answer: at least 8, maybe more.

Today I was bemoaning how I don’t have any student workers here to entertain me. This boredom leads to staring at the computer monitor and taking a few spinny chair breaks. Goes without saying just how stressful it is here. I decided to break up the boredom with a little artistic finger painting. Just as I was putting the finishing touches on my fingerstache, one of our students showed up with a friend. Let me first explain that this same time last year, I hired this student employee while high on Theraflu. This means the friend who has surely heard stories about the lackadaisical hiring process and the nutjobs who work in this place, of course wants a job. Now picture me, the student employee boss lady who does the hiring, spinning in her chair with a mustache on her finger. Wow. Classy stuff. I’m pretty sure I just hired another student. I blame my behavior on the throwback Mtn. Dew I’ve been sipping on to keep me awake.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie Ginger permalink
    August 18, 2010 2:44 pm

    I think we are going to have to get you a project to work on!

  2. Joel permalink
    August 18, 2010 3:02 pm

    While “spinning in her chair” has become a work project for Kacey, I just want to throw out there that I gave the best project of all time: Using her credentials as a librarian in training, Kacey gets a grant for an elementary school to populate their library with books. She then is paid by the grant to seek out, read and select children’s books. You could even use your mustached finger as a business partner. It would go something like this: “I’m Kacey, and this is my business partner, Kevin Salcido, he handles all the clipboard work. Please note that his mustache gives credibility to this whole project.”

    Kacey, why you aren’t already doing this, except maybe that you are dizzy from spinning in your chair, is beyond my comprehension. You’re welcome.

    • August 18, 2010 3:04 pm

      It’s overwhelming to think about how much work that would be. I mean, compared to what I’m used to. It’s gonna take a few weeks of chair spinning to even sort through that idea. Thanks for naming the fingerstache though. That’s not at all creepy!

  3. Alisa permalink
    August 18, 2010 5:43 pm

    This post receives a much deserved scoff, humph, and facepalm. WHY lil Kaceyfacey. Why.

  4. Stacey permalink
    August 18, 2010 9:15 pm

    Pshh.. at least drink a REAL mtn dew.

  5. Mom permalink
    August 18, 2010 9:59 pm

    Who’s this Joel-I think I like him… Drinking dew and spinning in a chair? That education is really paying off?!

    • August 18, 2010 10:21 pm

      How does one really determine if an education has proved itself useful? Hmm. Well definitely not by my example! Joel is the one who has asked about walking george, so yes, you would probably have lots to talk about.

Leave a Reply

