Skip to content

Is it possible to go to physical therapy to learn how to walk again, without being paralyzed?

June 24, 2010

I have always had problems with the basic skill of walking. I don’t know if the parents got tired of trying to show me or if they just decided it was more fun to see how many spills I could take and still survive. That’s one of the reasons I moved away from the snow/ice to live in this sunny state. I could not master the ice. I just don’t understand how people manage to walk so effortlessly in the winter. I thought I was home free living in Arizona, until it rained really hard last summer and I was running (ok. fine. jog/walk) to get the mail and my flip flops went right out from under me. I went down hard on the sidewalk. If anyone knows somewhere else to live with the same amount of sun and where I might be safe, please let me know.

I don’t think this recent experience can be entirely blamed on my spastic walking. There were moving obstacles this time. Obstacles that attack!

The other evening on my way home I stopped by the store to pick up dinner. As I was just about to walk outside, I heard my name being screeched from far away. I’m used to hearing things lately. That’s another habit from the mundane job. I now carry on full conversations with myself in my head. I thought this might be an actual sound coming from a real live person, so I looked behind me and BAM. Sliding door makes contact with my body. As I am quickly headed for the ground, a nice guy managed to catch me before I face planted. I have forgiven him for letting me crumple after the initial contact, because he was laughing so hard he could barely stand at this point. I am still a bit confused about why the sliding door sensor was NOT aware of my presence. hmph. Whatever.

Once I gathered myself and my belongings I looked up to seek out the awful, horrible person who caused this accident. She (a former co-worker that I never liked) just smiled, waved, possibly even winked, while yelling “call me, we’ll hang out this weekend”. I’m pretty sure I made this sound, “GARRRHHHH”. It’s guttural, but I think it also comes from deep within the stomach. Try it. There are times when nothing else can quite express your thoughts as this particular sound.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacey permalink
    June 24, 2010 9:29 pm

    You have no idea how proud I am to have you as my big sister! You successfully completed your blogging task.. I had a fantastic laugh! Thank you 😉

  2. Mom permalink
    June 24, 2010 9:40 pm

    Where to begin…

  3. Donna Bankson permalink
    June 25, 2010 4:19 am

    Now I KNOW were related! During the winter in Juneau–Octoer through May–I wore Yak-Trax on my shoes at all times. I attribute the onset of my fibromyalgia to the fall I took in graduate school: down five steps of concrete covered in ice on my butt. I despise SNOW and ice unless I am safely holed up in my house watching it when I’m not reading a good book.

    Yes, you can and should see a PT to help with gait. My problem is more with balance; I doubt that is your problem. It sounds like you might be a bit unaware of your surroundings 🙂 Mindfulness, baby. I’m sure your mother will chime in with the details, but I’m sure you have been told about the special shoes you wore as a wee one. Feet pointed inwards, I think. This is a pet peeve of mine, doctors don’t tell parents about this these days. I’m always looking at the way the children at school walk and wonder to myself why nobody has done anything about this! Only ONE of my children with autism sees a podiatrist! It’s an outrage.

    So, I don’t suppose the “nice” guy stuck around to see you safely to your car? Chivalry is dead.

    Thanks for the entertainment. Couldn’t sleep because I’m so excited! Russ and Jacey are bringing home two beagle puppies tomorrow night, well, technically, tonight. Yes, we are crazy.

Leave a Reply

