Skip to content

Being yelled at by a cab driver does not make for a very pleasant morning.

June 16, 2010

This story requires a visual representation. I already know it isn’t drawn to scale, so please don’t say anything.

I have had to start stalking a few of our student employees in order to keep them working this summer. This means I stop by their apartments on my way to work and repeatedly text them until they give in and finally get in my car. Then I force them to hang out at my place of employment just to entertain me. We really don’t even expect them to work, just to keep us company and make me giggle. We even feed them occasionally, so they shouldn’t even act like they’re tortured.

Let me explain the ‘artwork’. Today as I was waiting for RissyLynn to stumble downstairs and to my IDLING car, a cab driver pulls up next to me. He begins to scream and angrily move his arms about in wild, frightening motions. I think I only infuriated him further because I couldn’t understand what he was so angry about (accent… no comprende). Finally I realize he’s yelling at me to move my car and that I should obviously use the parking spaces in front of me to wait for my passenger. My response: *shrug* “Don’t worry about it.”

I am too lazy to park in the designated spaces because that would require backing up and excessive turning in order to leave. Yuck. So much work! If I just idle by the red curb, then I can easily circle around to the other side and leave. Easy peasy. I figure this man, who woke up on the wrong side of the bed, was mad that I burglarized his prime idling location. I hope we continue to meet, maybe I’ll keep cookies or cupcakes in my car to make his morning better next time he’s angry I’m in the prime red zone.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna Bankson permalink
    June 16, 2010 12:09 pm

    Classic! Love the visual support–totally completes the mental image. I like to smile, wave and, when feeling completely annoyed, blow these folks a kiss. My husband thinks that I’m trying to provoke people when I do this (who me?). Don’t let the bully intimidate you.

    Truly, please tell me, that your employees aren’t really this bad because it reinforces a theme of late (okay the past year) about the entitlement generation (see, I’ve even googled this topic). Ugh.

    • June 16, 2010 12:15 pm

      I was definitely exaggerating. Our employees are great! Although it was pretty funny listening to one of them complain about being stuck in traffic on our way home from work last night. I had to gently remind her that she could be walking in the 110 degree weather and that she wasn’t the one even driving. That’s right, poor me.

      • Abby permalink
        June 16, 2010 2:48 pm

        Don’t sugarcoat it Kacey, I can’t speak for the others of course, but I for one am certainly entitled. BTW- I need you to take off work on the 26th so you can drive me to my job interview. Thank you or whatever in advance.

  2. June 16, 2010 2:53 pm

    Ohhh Abby. You’re a Fibers major, of course you’re entitled. I’m just jealous of your continued and future artistic success.

    The 26th? A Saturday? Well, I hope you don’t mean the 25th because we’re having a party that day for BraceFaceBossMan. Although maybe a job interview could turn into a storage field trip!

  3. Mom permalink
    June 16, 2010 10:53 pm

    Entitlement generation-perfect! Mike and I have had numerous discussions on this topic lately.

    Your reaction to the grumpy taxi driver was very appropriate, because the usual alternate (that is quite popular in this Morman state) method would to let the middle finger fly. I think the treat idea is wonderful. Of course, instead of sharing take a big ol’ bite and give him a “lookie”-Yay!

  4. Mom permalink
    June 16, 2010 11:18 pm

    Morman-Mormon..whatever!

  5. Stacey permalink
    June 17, 2010 9:13 pm

    I love the artistic talents..

Leave a Reply

