Skip to content

Terrible, take a lap.

June 12, 2010

This story is about what happens when you have three lame faces try to steal something. I can’t imagine if we were trying to do an B&E. It would have been pitiful.

I went to the movies last night with a couple friends to see The A-Team. I enjoyed it immensely due to the absurd combination of entertaining personalities. Although I like any movie that has me giggling through most of it.

We went to the last showing and as we were wandering through the darkened mall parking lot Ms.K saw an adorable department store shopping cart which she thought would serve many purposes in daily life, ex. swap meets, lugging laundry through the house,  hauling in veggies from the garden, etc. I’m sure the possibilities could be endless. As Ms.K is brainstorming these ideas and how fantastic this imagined simplified life would be, she continued walking to her car. I guess Sara thought those comments were code for ‘STEAL THE SHOPPING CART, ASAP’.

After pushing the cart to our car with a heightened sense of paranoia, I was informed to be lookout. What? ME lookout? Uhhh, yeah that’s gonna work. I already felt guilty. I just rushed to the car, got inside, shut and locked the door. Locking the door… what was I protecting myself from, security guard zombies? I’m rolling my eyes at myself.

So, Sara starts shoving the car in the back, they realize it won’t fit and rush to fold the back seats down to maximize space for stolen goods. The fancy shopping cart eventually gets squished in the back seat and Ms. K gets behind the wheel  to drive off and suddenly she feels guilty. Haha! The guilt! So adorable. She just gets out and removes the cart, much to Sara’s dismay.

In the end we drove home without a fancy schmancy cool, all purpose, life simplifying cart. Shameful. Obviously we need to brush up on our thievery skills or learn to ignore self inflicted guilt. Either way, we were an ultimate fail in completing our decided mission. We must not have paid attention to the movie and how to accomplish what the team has been instructed to do. Maybe we would have been successful if we’d have had Mr. T on our side. With my luck, he would have been the security guard zombie man.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Alisa permalink
    June 13, 2010 6:14 pm

    As Dr. Phil would say, ‘What in the heeeeeeeeeeeeell?’

  2. Mom permalink
    June 14, 2010 1:06 am

    Ditto on what Alisa said. I will, under no circumstances, bail you out of jail for stealing a shopping cart! AND was my Stella a forced accomplice in this horrible act?

  3. Stacey permalink
    June 14, 2010 9:41 am

    Oh please.. it’s a shopping cart! Come on now! Homeless people take them all the time..

  4. Donna permalink
    June 14, 2010 10:07 am

    The pain killers have deprived me of inhibitions, so I’ve had to censor ALL of my comments and have settled on: Your mama raised you better dan dat, girlfriend! When you’re living on the streets, y’all can have matching shopping carts. You better watch out for Sheriff Arpaio!

  5. Alisa permalink
    June 14, 2010 10:49 am

    NOT STELLA! Keep her pure Kacey. Keep her pure.

  6. June 14, 2010 12:37 pm

    Don’t worry mom, you won’t have to bail me out of jail and Stella was not involved.

    Donna, how about next time you email me all the original comments you think of, so I still get a giggle. Sherriff Arpaio… ugh.

    Stacey, always keeping things in perspective. I have to admit that I told the crew I would have likely returned the cart the next day if they had actually taken it. 🙂

  7. Donna permalink
    June 14, 2010 1:19 pm

    I just have to share the irony: My previous comment was delayed in posting because it was being “approved” or some such nonsense! My niece is telling stories of thievery and I’m censored. Huh. Creepy. Kind of big-brotherish! Just saying.

  8. June 14, 2010 1:24 pm

    Ohh, AuntieD. You make a good point, but there are those who do not follow the rules of appropriate behavior when making comments. Just protecting the innocent, ya know… like that lil’ sister of mine who still thinks ‘shut up’ is THE worst thing one can say 🙂

  9. Donna permalink
    June 14, 2010 1:34 pm

    Okay, perhaps I’m paranoid as this last message is also “awaiting moderation.” this happens to everyone, right? Right? RIGHT? Kac, please assure me that at least you find this a bit funny ‘cuz, you know, I am paranoid 😉

  10. June 14, 2010 1:36 pm

    AuntieD… you are outta control and I find it to be hilarious!

  11. Donna permalink
    June 14, 2010 2:01 pm

    I’m only hilarious because I’m immobile and am a captive audience to your escapades.

  12. Auntie Ginger permalink
    June 15, 2010 12:11 pm

    So glad to hear you all gave up on the “heist”. You could have wound up in one of those “tent jails.”

  13. Donna Bankson permalink
    June 15, 2010 2:42 pm

    I left a comment yesterday about being “hilarious” from my iPad and it never posted. Maybe it’s the new technology or I’m still being “moderated.” Anyway, the gist of the post was that since I’m laid up from surgery, I’m a captive audience for your escapades. I prefer your tongue-in-cheek diatribes to abondoned heists as there is less potential for bail bonds and such. So, please, feel free to rant for my entertainment.

    • June 15, 2010 2:56 pm

      Ok, ok… I approved them both. It was overlooked. User error on my end of things. It’s alright, you just wanted to make me jealous with all that iPad talk. hmph. I need to work on some more worthwhile rants, school has made things a little boring. I’ll see what I can do this weekend.

      • Donna Bankson permalink
        June 15, 2010 3:09 pm

        Silly me. YOU do the moderating. Huh. Thanks for schooling me. I feel abashed. I’m so behind the times. Obviously, school comes first, so I can be patient while you find something worth blogging about. Perhaps I’ll read a book on my iPad 😉

Leave a Reply

