Skip to content

How does one honor the birthday of a crazy clown collector?

May 27, 2010

“I think I’ll be a clown when I get grown,” said Dill. “Yes, sir, a clown…There ain’t one thing in this world I can do about folks except laugh, so I’m gonna join the circus and laugh my head off.” “You got it backwards, Dill,” said Jem. “Clowns are sad, it’s folks that laugh at them.” “Well, I’m gonna be a new kind of clown. I’m gonna stand in the middle of the ring and laugh at the folks.”  Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

Ohhhh… I sure do enjoy laughing at folks, especially when there’s nothing else you can do about their sort of crazy.

Time to focus. We have a birthday to celebrate here. My mom’s, who is finally going to be a grandma this year! I think this means the clown collection should be a baby shower gift to the child who gives the greatest gift ever, that of a granddaughter! Whatdya think about that, Jed?

Thank goodness the clown collecting has taken the backseat to scrapbooking and genealogy. Although, I’m sure the collection is in the basement, just waiting for the day they get to once again take over the house. It’ll be like “A Night at the Museum” or “Indian in the Cupboard”, where they come to life in the middle of the night and put on a circus performance. Oh boy, I may have just created a nightmare scenario here. You wonder why I never want to visit the arctic where you live… there’s boxes and boxes of frightening (ok, some are cute) clowns in the basement waiting to take over the house and  possibly try to shove me in an itty bitty car. Well I got you there, I won’t fit!

Oh geez. Off topic again. I blame it on the fact that I didn’t get enough breast milk as a child. My brain needed more smart juice and you failed me! Oh well, I’ll keep trying to work with what I’ve got.

So mom, it’s your birthday and you’re not even home to get the fantastic card I sent you. Well let me just share what it should have said, had I taken the time to write more. You’re by far the most all star mother ever. We are such a spoiled family and often take you for granted. At least we know that, right? As you always say, the first step is admitting there’s a problem. You always come to the rescue for our life experiences of bumps and bruises, you still send me inappropriate amounts of candy on the lil’ holidays and give hugs when they’re needed most. I hope you enjoy your big shebang of a party being thrown by Auntie, since you’re visiting that part of the world. Oh wait… was that supposed to be a surprise? Oopsie daisy. I guess I might as well tell ya that when Auntie asked what you would like most on your special day, I said your favorite birthday cake is mincemeat pie and you love, love, love KFC for special dinners, except for that nasty mac and cheese.

ENJOY!

xoxo

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Alisa permalink
    May 27, 2010 1:30 pm

    Mmmmm mincemeat pie. I miss New Zealand. Though for a clown collector, you would think it’d be some sort of meringue pie. Unless you were being completely sarcastic in your post. Then I just feel stupid now.

    It’s ok, I wasn’t breastfed at ALL as a child. I’m sure that explains plenty. Happy Happy Birthday to the future grandma!

    • May 27, 2010 1:58 pm

      Oh geez. You would like mincemeat pie. I was being completely sarcastic. Her true love is Costco cake, so don’t worry you still have something in common.

  2. Aunt permalink
    May 27, 2010 3:13 pm

    I went and got the pizza when uncle was done. Got home and called her so we could go get the cake. She was already there and opted for cup cakes and was getting pizza too!!! I told her to put the pizza back! She is out of control! She has already learned to mix the baby with scrap booking!

  3. Mom permalink
    June 7, 2010 9:32 pm

    Love you-Girl!

Leave a Reply

