Skip to content

Attack of the flying devil rat.

May 21, 2010

There are certain parts of my daily drive where the birds are especially daredevil like. Why do they like risking their lives by swooping right in front of your car? Is it like skydiving for birds? I don’t know.

Yesterday one of these such birds aka rat aka pigeon came out of nowhere, flew through the passenger window, then the stupid thing hit the frame of the drivers side window, just barely missing his exit by inches. Which means DEVIL RAT BIRD was inside my car, flapping wildly. Most of you know I’m kind of a baby when it comes to animals other than cats and dogs. humph. I started screaming, crying, flapping my own arms wildly at the DEVIL RAT BIRD. I’m not sure what my game plan was. If I could have jumped into the backseat or out of the car, then I totally would have. Although being super coordinated, I would have got halfway out of the window, legs tangled in the seatbelt and then I’d just be a crazy girl, clawing her way out of a car who was trying to flap her way to freedom. Pitiful. Oh and thank goodness this car is manual, otherwise when I started having my spaz out I really should have ended up in the ditch. This is one time I’m grateful for stalling and luckily I was close enough to a red light that I don’t think anyone noticed what was going on. phew.

Oh and that poor, poor DEVIL RAT BIRD… he definitely got a good beating before being tossed out the window by my flailing arms. At first I worried that I killed the lil’ guy, but now I just don’t really care. A smarter bird would have gracefully swooped in front of the windshield, enjoying that rush of adrenaline and later bragging about it to the cool crowd hanging out on the telephone wire.

Don’t worry mom, the car is fine.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Shannon permalink
    May 21, 2010 9:23 am

    OMG! I have never laughed so hard in my life Kacey! You are so hilarious! This story will live on in infamy. LOL

  2. Alisa permalink
    May 21, 2010 9:25 am

    omg. hahahahahahahaha.

  3. Camille permalink
    May 21, 2010 3:32 pm

    Only you…..

  4. Aunt permalink
    May 21, 2010 3:37 pm

    This story was worth the wait. Laughed all the time I was reading this. Your mom said she is greatful that her car is OK. Love you!

  5. Mom permalink
    May 21, 2010 3:47 pm

    I don’t even know what to say-If you had wrecked my car because a “rat bird” wanted a ride, it would have been to your benefit to “fly” to freedom! No LOVE from Mom.

  6. Stacey permalink
    May 21, 2010 9:45 pm

    Oh man, my dear sweet older sister! I wish I could have seen this monumental experience, dang! Maybe next time you could get it all on camera ;)!

Trackbacks

  1. Blondie + Bicycle + Stairs = « Time for a mulligan……

Leave a Reply

