Skip to content

I might as well be a Phillies fan.

April 26, 2010

The adoptive family that I have mentioned before happens to be Phillies fans. Since they were in town to battle the Diamondbacks, we decided we better go show some support. The main reason is because Ms. Kimmy has some major love for Mr. Ryan Howard.

One of my favorite things about the game was reading what was written on the boards. For example “D-backs Garden Gnome Figurine”. If you attend a certain game in May you could walk away with one of those. Oooh boy! Exciting. I had to do some research to see just what that was. Yuuppp, just as exciting as I imagined. Oh and that pool! It would have been lovely those last few innings as the sun really began to aim for our eyeballs. Those rays were like laser guns. If only they were dual purpose, eye surgery lasik guns. That would have been amazing!

Even though I decided I can be a Phillies fan, I needed someone to root for. This guy seemed to fill that requirement just fine.

I wish I had a better picture of this character, but I hope my explanation below will do her justice.

I didn’t even realize that “Flag Lady” is how this woman is typically referred to. Amazing. Luckily I did my research. There we were, just enjoying the game and soaking up some gorgeous weather when we noticed the flag twirler. I could not believe my eyes. It was like some poor girl from high school reliving her glory days as color guard all star. At first I was ashamed, for her. Then I started thinking… what if this lady was the high school color guard all star and then she got the full ride scholarship to some fancy shmancy school for her magnificent flag twirling skills. Which led to a career of professional flag twirling happiness and lifetime achievement awards. Now that she’s retired, she has the time to keep on twirling for her D-backs. Always providing the love and encouragement they need through the rough seasons they typically experience. In reality she’s doing a service to the community, fans and players. Twirl on Flag Lady… someone needs to keep the spirit alive.

Note: My imagination is not the true story. Click on the research link above if you’d like to read about the dental office lady who creates individualized flags for each player by hand. She is truly an inspiration to an aspiring fan, such as myself.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacey permalink
    April 26, 2010 6:03 pm

    I’m so glad you are now a phillies fan.. maybe you and the flag twirler queen can be best friends!

    • April 26, 2010 9:27 pm

      More like frenemies. Enemies because she’s rooting for the D-backs and I’ve chosen to be loyal to the Phillies. Friends because we both are obviously all stars at creating handmade artsy crafty things. As soon as I figure out how to incorporate knitting into my new crazed fan stalker lifestyle… watch out!

  2. Mom permalink
    April 27, 2010 9:15 am

    Actually, you are genetically programed to be a Dodgers fan! I think you should support the home team. I think it is a rule.

    • April 27, 2010 9:17 am

      Well a Dodgers game just might be the next one I attend. There will be fireworks at that one.

Leave a Reply

