Skip to content

Never approach a bull from the front, a horse from the rear, or a fool from any direction.

April 19, 2010

On my way to work today I scheduled a doctors appointment, just knowing I have some form of ear infection taking over my brain. I just needed to survive through a few hours of work before I could receive drugs. It’s hard enough to survive this place of employment when I’m on my A game (which for normal folks is a… B-). Lets just way it was a struggle and I should NOT be allowed to participate in conversation where I’m given the opportunity to “act a fool”.

Here’s the all-knowing co-worker in the corner going on and on about barometric pressure giving him a headache. What? That doesn’t even make sense! Yuuuupppp, that’s me, the rational one! He just gave me the okayyy crazy face, not gonna mess with your level of intelligence… granted he did go onto explain. Whatever.

Next stop doctor. I go in, hang out, read my magazine. I was doing pretty well ignoring those samuri inner ear swordsman who were mutilating my brain into mush. You can understand why I got a little irritated when I had to put down the gossip pages, ugh. He proceeds to lecture me on allergies and sinus issues and blah, blah. Maybe you shouldn’t lay by the pool while the grass is being cut or while the flowers and trees are being pruned. It’s obvious those things bother you. Well doctor sir, what am I supposed to do? I can’t just move the pool and those flowers make it pretty and all smelly good fresh air. Besides I’m pretty sure that the person doing the *yard work needs my company. Then doctor sir asked why I wasn’t doing the sinus rinse and I had to explain that it grosses me out. His comeback….

“Sinus infections gross me out! So I don’t want to see you again!”

humph.

He did say I may be experiencing an increased level of pain from the sinus infection due to the weather. What weather? There’s clouds in the sky! Like 5 fluffy pretty cozy soft snow cone clouds. I guess that’s where the whole barometric pressure theory comes into play.

So if there’s a mother nature version of a space cowboy somewhere in those clouds, please feel free to lasso them up and move them on their way. I promise to make you yummy yum yum cinnamon rolls in return. Deal? I sure hope so.

*In regards to yard work. Yes mother, I do offer to help. I think the owner of the yard is afraid of the destruction that would ensue. Probably a smart move on her part.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna permalink
    April 19, 2010 5:27 pm

    Oh, honey, haven’t you learned anything from your mother or your Auntie D? NeilMed SinuRinse. Rinse, repeat 3 times per day with active sinus infection, you silly girl. If you insist on living in THAT desert, you’re going to have to do this at least once per day when feeling fine and you probably need a humidifier. Meanwhile, get yourself on daily allergy meds (Claritin, Zyrtec, Allegra) and take them every stinkin’ day! Got it? Meanwhile, look into some sort of Flonase for rhinitis. I went through this exact thing my entire life until, um, about age 32. I’d hope you’d learn from your elders. Sheesh. Get better.

    • April 19, 2010 5:40 pm

      Alright, alright, back off me! I forgot there would be lectures… still waiting on the other one from THAT OTHER state. You better talk nice about my desert, it’s fantastic here. Thanks for the advice, as usual. mwuah… much love. Hugs and kisses and nail polish sparkles to Jacey face.

  2. Stacey permalink
    April 19, 2010 8:40 pm

    Sick.. sinus rinse is gross.

  3. Mom permalink
    April 19, 2010 10:13 pm

    Ditto…good going Auntie D!
    Mommy is wise…and currently using an inhaler!

Leave a Reply

