Skip to content

An easter with the adoptive family.

April 15, 2010

I have the most awesome family ever, but they live somewhere that experiences winter and I hate visiting cold, yucky weather. So, of course I’m going to spend Easter in the best state ever soaking up the sunshine. Especially when I’ve managed to invite myself to an Easter family get together. These people have become my Arizona family. They feed me, let my lay by the pool and they even put up with my smart mouth. Allstars I tell ya!

I have heard over the past few years about their Easter egg hunt. It involves the typical plastic egg filled with a jelly bean. Each different color jelly bean equals some cash value. One can imagine just how competitive this game could get. Since I’m a scaredy cat, I chose to observe and take lots and lots and lots of pictures.

This was my job. Put jelly bean in egg. It was harder than you would think. I’m not used to working so much.

The ‘kids’, Ruth’s children (ranging in ages 22-29) were told to go line up around the corner in order, youngest first. That caused the first argument. The youngest will always be spoiled, no matter what. Ridiculous. As soon as they raced around the corner, chaos ensued. Furniture was turned upside down, dvd’s went flying and they were even able to get a few secret hiding spots out of the 4 year old. Shameful!

This is what happens when 4 year olds cheat. Crazy faces fighting over money. I thought their mom was joking when she said no black eyes or bloody noses this year.

After all the eggs were found, the ‘hunters’ sat around the table to organize their jelly beans, as their mother divided up the money. This part was heartbreaking. Had I known the division would be so uneven, I might have rigged the game. The only daughter in the family walked away as champion with 80 dollars or so, the youngest had a little less and the oldest just walked away sad.

You see that? Yep… that was about it for the oldest child. I’m hoping he was just letting his younger siblings win, ya know… letting them feel like winners for once. It’s tough being the oldest, always being the best, smartest, everything’est. I speak from experience. It’s exhausting after so many years. I can only imagine he was pretending to fight for those eggs, but secretly flew back home to New York knowing he had done a good thing for his siblings. If that’s not the case, then I’m just sad for him. Better luck next year.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Auntie permalink
    April 16, 2010 7:37 am

    That is so funny! What a great idea for when they have out grown the traditional Easter egg hunts! It sounds like you have found a really fun adoptive family!

  2. Stacey permalink
    April 16, 2010 8:32 am

    Man, super fun! We’re going to have to do that when our kids get older.. and you can come instigate! I’m glad you have a replacement family in Arizona ;)! As for the youngest-oldest thing.. pshh!

Leave a Reply

