Skip to content

Sharing the secret family recipe…DON’T TELL!

January 10, 2010

I continue to get requests for the carmel corn recipe I use. Thanks Dad for creating the addiction. I figured I’d post it here, so I can just copy/paste next time I need to forward it on. You’re welcome!

All the ***’s used at the bottom give away the secrets!!!

Yummy yummy carmel corn
1 1/4 c. brown sugar
1 stick margarine (preferably Imperial, as with all baking)
1/2 c. light corn syrup

Mix the above in a medium pan over med/high heat. Bring to a rolling boil (BIG lava bubbles) and boil 1 min. Remove from heat. Add:

1/2 c. sweetened condensed milk (usually 1/2 the can works well, that way you don’t have to dirty another cup)
1 t. vanilla.

Mix well. Drizzle about half the carmel over popcorn. Stir well. Repeat. Pretend to scrape the bowl clean, but really hide it in the corner and eat the leftover carmel yourself.

*For the popcorn, I use an air popper and fill a super large tupperware bowl. If you don’t have one, then I would use the kitchenaid bowl and another large mixing bowl, dividing the carmel between the two. Stirring the carmel and popcorn can sometimes take practice, but since you’re a “Baking Master” then you shouldn’t have any problems.

*If you use microwave popcorn(not sure how many bags it would take), be sure to get the kind without butter. The carmel will just slide right off it. That’s also the reason you want to use margarine instead of butter in the recipe.

*The last suggestion I have, which I HATE but I’ll share anyway. My family likes to add between 1 and 1 1/2c. peanuts to the carmel before pouring it over the popcorn. GROSS, but do what you want.

*Easy, peasy! Pretty foolproof. As with all my recipes, there’s plenty of room for error, but will still taste good. Which is what matters most.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunt Ginger permalink
    January 10, 2010 3:25 pm

    Just what I need….Something else to help pack on the pounds. I think I can get the uncle to make this!!

  2. Alisa permalink
    January 10, 2010 3:34 pm

    Mmmmmmmmmm. Will be making soon. Need to send my meatloaf recipe!!!!

  3. camille permalink
    January 10, 2010 10:28 pm

    I don’t think it is a good idea for me to know this recipe. Only bad can come of this…80 pounds, trips to the dentist, dentures…the list could go on.

    I think I better still only let Mike make this for me. With OUT peanuts 🙂

Leave a Reply

