Skip to content

“If they can’t appreciate your blow-offs, how can they appreciate you?” Laura B., PHS Legend

November 7, 2009

BackOffI’ve recently discovered my social skills may be lacking. Ok, ok they are… whatev. I have a good circle of friends who keep me entertained on the weekends and such. Which is nice. Outside that safety net, I’m pretty unapproachable.

There’s a part in Hitch where Will Smith’s character describes me perfectly (minus the profanity and questionable behavior. I chose to censor as needed for those cute lil’ cousins of mine). I included the first part because it’s cute not because I have ‘that’ attitude, but the last part is what I’m referring to.

Hitch: Now, on the one hand, it is very difficult for a man to even speak to someone who looks like you. But, on the other hand, should that be your problem?

Sara: So life’s kind of hard all around.

Hitch: Not if you pay attention. I mean, you’re sending all the right signals – no earrings, heels under two inches, your hair is pulled back, you’re wearing reading glasses with no book, drinking a MOUNTAIN DEW, which means you had a HECK of a week and a ROOTBEER just wouldn’t do it. And if that wasn’t clear enough, there’s always the “BACK off” sign that you have stamped on your forehead.

I prefer to call this attitude, my Stranger Danger response. And yes, it works quite nicely. So all my cute lil’ cousins out there… start practicing! Just remember, you might want to turn it OFF once you get old, or if cute guys try to talk to you at Trader Joe’s.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Alisa permalink
    November 7, 2009 5:46 pm

    A 40-year old at Target kept stalking me through the Halloween clearance aisles yesterday when his children were using the bathroom and kept trying to make meaningless chit chat. It came up that I was pregnant and as I was walking away he said “And by the way, you LOOK GOOD.” I saw him checking out as I was leaving and had to pretend I was on the phone so that he wouldn’t say something to me.

  2. November 7, 2009 6:05 pm

    That is so funny. I can totally imagine you being stalked as you pretend to be a busy, busy girl on your phone. What a dollface.

  3. Mom permalink
    November 8, 2009 1:41 am

    …or it could be that dreaded “Bankson look” that has been passed down for a least three generations…

  4. November 9, 2009 8:33 am

    Well thanks for passing that one down.

  5. Dad permalink
    November 9, 2009 8:52 am

    Well, at least you have a plan. 🙂 You can always just burp really loud or let one slip… I’m pretty sure that would work, too.

  6. Laura permalink
    December 11, 2009 1:45 pm

    Erm…..dare I ask…when you wrote “Laura B. PHS Legend” were you referring to me? I didn’t know there were any other Laura B.’s who went to PHS. Sorry, just my curious natuer 🙂 And how the heck are ya?

  7. Laura permalink
    December 11, 2009 1:46 pm

    Nature! Dangit, can’t spell!

  8. December 11, 2009 1:50 pm

    Of course I meant you Laura! It wouldn’t matter if there were any other Laura’s at PHS… it’s the fact that you are the only LEGEND!

  9. Laura permalink
    December 11, 2009 7:36 pm

    Aww, gee, thanks! Waaaait….legendary for what?
    This could get ugly. You don’t have a back-off sign on your forehead, do you? Whom are you trying to keep away? Surely not blond PHS graduates who play the bagpipes?!?

Leave a Reply

